Year On…

Kat doodles about life and speaks about languages:

Just over a year ago, when I started doodling my thoughts on slightly more regular basis and making other people enter my inner world, the really one thing I hoped for to be in a better place in the future. And you know what?! I am in a better place than I was a year ago. There were lot of ups and certainly downs along the way, including the drama, tears and hands covering faces moments, but things are very much looking up. And for a good while, I have been sharing my adventures and more to come with someone new. He turned up in my life-like it was a perfectly written film script.

Autumn and winter last year I spent writing most of my days and decided to continue throughout 2014 to continue making changes. Until we got till about March, when things got a bit too much on a personal level, so I took a week off around my birthday and went to Paris to visit few friends. Who would have known that trip will change my life. Probably forever by the looks of it, or at least let’s say good few years. I met someone on a night out. He didn’t speak English, I didn’t speak French and here we are six months later still together.

So if you have wondered why you heard pretty much nothing for the last six months, it’s because I spent anything between two to five hours every day speaking to him via Skype and Whatsapp. First month we even had to use Google Translate to be able to understand each other. But as you can tell, if you really want something, you can make it work. I am now at the point of speaking some basic French, although I must sound to any French person as a three-year old child. However it is getting better day by day. His English also improved as he can understand certain phrases or words, but we are mainly communicating in French.

As year past not just new man appeared in my life, but I have now significantly moved on with my driving lessons. As you all know this was really the main point why I returned to blogging. I got rejected for a job purely based on the fact I could not drive. Well, now I have passed my Driving Theory Test. First time round, yay! That happened sometimes in the middle of August. I have now done 32 hours behind the wheel and my practical part should happen sometime within a month or two. Driving feels lot less scary to me and since wet days have arrived again, I am realizing the importance of it.

Not being a fan of long distance relationships, we are both trying to figure out how to make it work. I started new course, which could help me search work in the future, since I don’t really speak much French. I am now also exploring other different aspects of moving to another country after living in the UK for 10 years (happens to be in about a week). Meaning stuff like updating CV according French rules, searching the cheapest way to shift my stuff and of course downsizing. Apparently volume has the bigger importance, so stuffing the boxes to their maximum seems the best solution.

In a meanwhile during the past year I have had work from different interpreting agencies, my English students came and went , I spent days in the kitchen and weekends “clubbing” as usual and I have done a bit of scenic painting for an advertising campaign for Peugeot. And of course to get to know each other with my new man we spent a really lovely week in the UK (lucky he was with the weather) and I went to France for pretty much the whole September. We visited so many places and I now feel like an expert in drinking wine and eating cheese. Surely I will be sharing all those little tricks with you in the future.

Lastly I would like apologize to all my favourite bloggers that I had to unfollow their posts, but it all became too much in my mail box and I could not deal with the guilt of not reading. I have also deleted  the Czech version of my blog as it became pretty much impossible translating everything at the same time. Perhaps in the future a new project will be born in my head, who knows.

So here I am back again! Hopefully lot more regularly, but it is not a promise.

Yours Kat

wpid-IMG_20141013_193223.jpg

5 thoughts on “Year On…

  1. nice read, sounds like you have been busy! long distance relationships are so hard to maintain, I truly hope it works out for you.

  2. Kat I am so glad you are back on the blog! I have really missed your cheery updates, though I’m so pleased it’s working out well with Joe Le Taxi ;))) Keep writing x x

  3. Congrats to you Kat! A perfect illustration of how we are the authors of our own destinies! xxx

Leave a Reply

