Post 19: Book Shopping! 103 to go!

Kat doodles about life and recommends:

On Thursday I meant to meet up with one of my friends however it got canceled last minute and whilst I was in town I thought I use that time to search for things I need since avoid town or going shopping unless absolutely necessary. I knew I need some books for the lessons. My new student, who likes to travel, requested some fairy tales, which I am still not entirely convinced about. I know it may be the English he understands, but not the English he needs or will use in everyday life. Whilst looking for those, I was also keeping an eye on any interesting cookery book and something else, which may possibly catch my eye. And here is what I found:

At Works I went for the bargain of 4 for £5 and picked up these children stories. There some universal ones, so it should not be a problem to understand and they are told in simpler way than originals. I am particularly looking for using Big Nate Fun Blaster as it is full of fun quizzes, crossword puzzles and curious questions to answers to get both of my students talking.

image

image

image

image

Afterwards I had a wander around few more bookshops and I found this as a present to give as a ‘Thank You’. I already have this book and I have used it pretty much as my baking bible for the last four years on ongoing basis. This particular edition is twice as big than the one I have. It has extra chapters and basically recipes for all types of pies, tarts, cakes and everything else you need to know, covering the world cuisine. They are great basic recipes using ingredients you would have in the cupboard and illustrated with images for pretty much most of the recipes.

image

As someone trained in scenic painting, this book caught my eye, and for 50 p, I was not going to leave it there. Perhaps something new to learn.

image

My last successful bargain was in WSmith, where I found this language pack reduced £5- 3 books and 3 CDs. I have been battling with ‘the language of love’ for years, so why not give this a go.

image

By then my bags got really heavy, so after two hours shopping trip, I went back home. Literally literary satisfied. Kat xx

4 thoughts on “Post 19: Book Shopping! 103 to go!

  1. Linda says:

    I need to find a good baking book! Might have a look at the one you mentioned, must be good to be your ‘baking bible’

    • katdesigner says:

      Oh definitely Linda! I cannot recommend this one enough! The most funny things is I actually picked it up years ago for few quid in poundshop. Out of all the books I use this one I use the most and had friends asking for recipes. There are all the recipes you need, simple, medium, complicated ones, but nothing over too fancy and money wasting kind. The new one is packed as a present, so when I get my old one back, I will send you info, if you like.

  2. Gemma Button says:

    I love picking up books about baking, always so much inspiration 🙂 xx

  3. lisa prince says:

    you know i have so many cook books but nevr use them lol, i should be more creative x

Leave a Reply

