Post 8: When a man tells you he loves you… little too late! 115 to go!

Kat doodles about life:

Forget the Darwin! Forget the painting! Forget how my new interpreting job went! There is something so important I have the need to write about that it has to come out right now! It has been a topic on my mind for the last few years, but I have never felt like it is something to explore further until it happened again few days ago.

So I am having an online chat with a man until early hours of the morning. I consider him now as a friend, but about six years ago he was an object of my affection and was madly into him. My visits at home can be counted in weeks and I always arrive as a hurricane, cause a lot of drama and an excitement without purposely planning to of course and as quickly I arrived I also quickly depart. This particular young man certainly knew I was well into him, but we never really got to the stage of making it into a relationship. The same way I was not quite ready to leave UK due to my university commitments and go back home to be with him.

After not much contact over the last six years although following what we would be up to, we ended up talking and there he suddenly said it! It was that I always thought of you, I always loved you, I never stopped thinking about you, I still love you!  Wow, what do I do with this? Of course I was pleased! What kind of woman would not be happy? But part of me felt like waving my hands in the air shouting: “Why did you have to wait all these years until now to tell me?” as well as part of me, who felt like saying : “That’s really sweet, but I am sorry I no longer feel the same way about you. I have moved on and looking for different kind of man than I was looking for back in the day. ” It was that classic literature moment, when Onegin writes a letter to Tatyana. Was it something Pushkin experienced himself perhaps? That he lost out on a woman of his life and she was never coming back?!

I know I am not the typical kind of girl and certainly live my life to its maximum through crazy adventures I do not fully think through, so I guess sometimes the speed I expect people to react with to my behaviour is not reasonable. But I do give it a fair chance. Like on those other three occasions, when men told me they loved me, still do and if…, but I knew they are not going to do anything about it. It’s because they live in other countries now with either their wives, girlfriends or simply still single waiting for something exciting to wake them up. It might even be that they love dreaming about the idea of possibly something happening in the future. When Adele’s Someone Like You came out, it took  me good few months  to be able to compose myself every time I heard it. No wonder why it became so popular! It is something what every woman has to tell herself, when she looses a man she feels so strongly about.

So what is the result? Well, it is not going to happen. No matter how much they think, wish or believe. They have missed the chance. And although this young man said to me: “It’s never too late!” Well actually it is! It is sometimes little too late. The quote about meeting in different time, in different place is so true! Beautiful example of that is a book called One Day, which describes the story of two main characters meeting each other over twenty years. When I read it, I felt like buying it and sending it to all those particular men to perhaps wake them up, but I never did. It is not my place to tell someone that they should express what they feel. But they should take the consequences when they are  little too late once they express it, because we women have already walked for long enough the same way as Forrest Gump ran through America to forget his pain.

With love. Yours Kat

wpid-IMG_20131219_231557.jpg

6 thoughts on “Post 8: When a man tells you he loves you… little too late! 115 to go!

  1. Sarah says:

    Such a good post. I have to agree, it can be to late.

  2. Louise says:

    Aww bless. I wonder how many of us have been in this same situation? I made the mistake of meeting up with an ex once after he declared his undying love. Luckily though, it felt wrong so I left soon after. I guess it was nice to get some closure 🙂

    Louise x

    Confessions of a Secret Shopper

  3. As I was reading your post it made me think of One Day and then you mentioned it! Sometimes men can be so indicisive or distracted, it can take you being away from them to eventually wake them up! Glad you haven’t comparing all other dudes to him, and you just got on with having fun.

    • katdesigner says:

      Exactly! You may regret what you haven’t done in the past, but you have to live for the moment, who you currently are and who feels certain way about you at this current time. At least my short visits made every one of those love experiences short and quick making it obvious it wouldn’t last as there was no proactivity from the other side. Everything happens for a reason I say.

  4. Good post and completely agree! So much can happen in 6 years and its his lost. This is the thing with men, they never open up and express their true feelings. However, I’m so lucky now to have the man I have and nearly going out 7 years.

Leave a Reply

