Kat doodles about life:

Since blogging lot more regularly and having the blog address on my business cards, it led to lot more traffic and the blog is becoming increasingly popular. Of course that makes me very happy. However on the other hand I can feel I am loosing a bit of privacy. This started as a lighthearted personal journey on becoming full-time designer with those faux pas on the way and personal struggles to keep you entertained in order to help other young graduates to avoid them. Unfortunately in the last few weeks there were three occasions, when the past came to haunt me and I feel I cannot longer enjoy free writing the same way as it would come out of my mouth when simply talking to friends over cup of tea.

The first time I had to rewrite the post about five times, so I am not facing the judgement in the future, as with online world you can simply do a bit of Google or Facebook search and find out anything about anyone you like. From typical funny Kat like story it turned into few very boring general lines. Few days ago I nearly choked on my morning cup of tea, when two pictures popped up on my Facebook Newsfeed of certain someone with few other certain people. This person barely posts, so it did not even cross my mind to unfriend them. Again I cannot comment on that situation as I might feel the consequences, because they might somehow read this blog.

And now for the third time I am feeling fairly puzzled thinking I should really review the way I write this blog. As one of my new year resolutions I decided to make effort in meeting more people and catching up with friends more often. Last night I had a great intellectual chat with someone, but after one drink he decided to go home. And again I rewrote this part good few times already as I know he is most likely to read it since I told him some funny stories from my driving lessons and how this writing challenge came along. I suddenly feel I cannot share anything or question what happened.

Just to add the oddness of the day earlier on, I had a presentation for my upcoming project.  I have turned up at the venue, everything got set up and then only five people turned up. I knew the advertising was out for only very short amount of time due to some other tight deadlines, but I was expecting few more in. It has thrown me little, so instead my usual fairly confident speech I was going on about some non relevant details. I am not usually like this, so I was quite disappointed with myself. I do not know what happened. Let’s see what Friday brings, when I get the result in. Afterwards I went to see some lovely familiar faces to have little catch up chat and they promised to support the project if they can tomorrow before the deadline ends.

People enjoy reading my posts and I enjoy writing them, but now I am left confused what to do about this and where do I go from here. Starting a new anonymous blog just to share my eventful life is pointless, because being an artist is not a job. It is a life style choice. Or it might have been just few weird weeks, when I simply got too involved with my emotions and got carried away questioning these little details, which are totally non-relevant to the bigger picture. What are your thoughts? Do you feel that you reveal too much when you write? Did you ever have to face the consequences? With love Kat xx

Post n.3: When Blogging Is No Longer Fun! 119 Posts to Go!

2 thoughts on “Post n.3: When Blogging Is No Longer Fun! 119 Posts to Go!

  1. First, don’t stress about your presentation, I am sure it went fine! x The privacy in blogging – that’s a much more tricky one. I know exactly how you feel – there’s a lot I don’t blog about because I’m not anonymous. And the ‘therapy’ aspect certainly disappears to an extent when you have to filter your words. But the good side of that – well for me anyway – is I think it makes me a better writer, because instead of simply dumping my thoughts, I have to think through the consequences, if that makes sense.
    You will find your path, and if you do go anonymous don’t forget to invite me to the secret circle!! Much love x x

  2. There’s no easy solution..you can say if you write what you feel it can open up communication and let the other person/people know how you feel..but then you have to know how you’re going to deal with it. Another option is to run two blogs – but there’s time – and there’s the aspect of ‘if I’m not being honest on my Blog why am I writing it’…it’s not easy!! xxx

Leave a Reply

