Day 65 : Changing feel of the room with colour “3”! 27days to go!

 

 

Kat gets arty and doodles about life:

 

Quick draft in my Dashboard is asking ” What is on your mind?” Well how very appropriate as right about now it is something like this: Do I manage to post this without another fail of internet connection and spending another hour switching computer on and off. Do I catch up with all four posts I am already missing, because technically I am only posting today to cover Wednesday and do I really need all the other nonsense going on in my life and that includes the ongoing cold I am suffering with third week running. AAAgh!

 

Now once rant is over I can tell you what I was up to on Wednesday. After work, which I just about managed to get through at my state,who would have thought that I will still be ill after having two weeks off and accepting those shifts, I had a meeting for my January project. I had a really good chat with the lady in charge and been handed over CRB forms, now I just need to create a poster, find enough “bodies” and we can roll. So that is well exciting. After I got home I started the battle with internet and catching up with posts once again.

 

So here is number 3:

 

colours3finsihed task

 

Now I will be very honest and I do not personally like this task. There might be few reasons for that. Firstly I like bright high pigmented colours and with small facing room north facing it is not exactly ideal combination. What we need are light, preferably warm colours, as we get the cold light inside. Secondly the Farrow and Ball colour chart, when I scanned different parts of it. colours changed with colour restoration or descreening. The samples did not come out as well as they look in reality. It was not that obvious until I started filling the black and white room with them and thought hmmm this is not really working. I may have to revisit this post and figure some right combination otherwise I cannot rest.

So picture number one is using Great White on chimney breast and walls and Blackened on two strips running along the chimney. You would think Great White will be white, but for some reason during the scanning it got picked up as this purple shade and Blackened looks more of a blue. As you can tell the importance of colour sample tub is very important. Personally I think the Blackened could be swapped for some red to make it little more warmer.

 

Second picture is done with the idea of contrast, what it could look like if you decide to use cold palette. They are Cabbage White on chimney breast and walls and Borrowed Light on the other two. I quite like this colour combination, however as requested in brief, I do not think it is going to work in the space due to the lack of space and light.

Lastly I thought I will try the warm scheme, but not happy about the result. White Tie on chimney breast and walls and Diminity of the other two walls along the chimney. On the actual colour palette, they look quite nice, but again on the screen of a computer, not that well anymore. Disappointed. I think more yellows and oranges will do, but did not want to make it look like nursing home. What I am going to do? This post is a fail. I think that is it for today, this will be obviously on my list again. Back soon. Kat xx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

