Day 53: It’s tax tiiimes! 39 days to go!

Kat doodles about life:

As you can tell today’s post is about tax. Oh yes, it is that time of the year, when all freelancers are starting to worry if they should forget about it until it is really late, well more precisely the 31st of January deadline date, and spend the money now on extravagant parties or presents. Or become very well organized and have already paid sometime in summer.

When I graduated I joined this freelance party too, so I guess I am still learning and when it comes to tax I am finally getting the grip of by filling my third tax form. My first time I was fashionably late as you should be going to a party. Last year I managed to that with a day to spare! I know! I can see that admiring nod of yours! So I became a helping hand of my at that time boyfriend and organized his receipts, plus cooked roast dinner. I know! I can see that another admiring nod of yours!

So this year I though I may aim for perhaps a week or month advance? Well I am not going to lie, I know I have overpaid some tax somewhere and I know Her Majesty is not going to give them to me until I fill that self assesment form. And that is lot of fun, when it comes to having four jobs. I work for two different companies being employed and I am self employed  and providing two different services. Obviously something is wrong, because I never have any money… hmmm.

So last night I started! I took out that big over-floating folder and put everything in those transparent pockets and then started to go through every single one of them sorting it out into piles. I managed to get to piling it by jobs, forms, payslips, invoices, receipts, project receipts and started to write them down on a piece paper, so I can one day put them into my computer based form, which I created, and which would work well If I could be bothered to use on ongoing basis.

Thankfully there was a help on call, when my dear friend urgently needed a skype session, so I urgently had to leave my receipts in order to listen to an upset soul. Today I spent organizing few important (!) bits and pieces and mostly spent it hovering around my blog and the “F” social media network hoping to get a message from work ‘Stay warm in bed and look after yourself.’ Tax will have to wait until another time, but since all the receipts are all over the floor, it might have to become urgent soon. It is 6pm, so let me enjoy few more hours of procrastinating and then I am off to work as that magic message has not arrived. See you tomorrow everyone. Kat xx

image

image

Leave a Reply

