Day 40: DIY, roast and work (again). 52 days to go!

 

Kat gets arty and doodles about life:

 

So since I have been doing crazy hours in the last ten days and the weather has not been in very nice either, on Saturday I only just about managed to get out of bed around 1pm. Not that I wanted to, but I have been  dragged out talked into doing some DIY and as I promised earlier that week cooking roast dinner. So the pork (with pickled garlic, tarragon, marjoram, paprika, cumin seeds and oil with carrots in the tray went into the oven, as well as tray of potatoes, radishes, courgettes, onions.  Cabbage, leeks and swede for mash went into steam selections of pots. I do not tent tend to post food  pictures, because I find it rude teasing other people with all these images, flavours and smells, which come with it, but this time I will make a little exception. So gravy topped it up and shame that Vienetta ice cream was in my own freezer on the other side of the town. So cup of tea had to do.

 

day 40 p2

 

 

Now this DIY I have been helping (?) with  is to prevent the water coming through the wall making it wet. So the plaster and flaky areas have been scraped and sanded and this sheet of plastic had to be put up on the wall for the water to drip down into drain running along the walls. Since having done stretching canvas for scenic painting, this looked like the same thing. Well apart from the fact it is pretty hard stretching plastic. The other half of the team was not exactly into listening my directions, but once he realized I might be talking sense (for once), he agreed to me pointing out which direction to go on the next special screw he kept putting in. About six hours later the whole sheet nearly covered  two-thirds of the ceiling. It was rather work out holding the sheet up in my arms and making wobbly parts into flats ones waiting for screws and sealer to go in whilst listening to the great sounds of drilling next to my ear and dust flying into my face. And after this work out, after the dinner and few episodes of 2 Broke Girls, I was off to work again.  Kat

day 40 p1

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

