Day 39: Finished hanging signs and second tent! 53 days to go!

 

Kat gets arty and doodles about life:

 

I know, I know what are you saying, I am two days late!!! I am very sorry! But! I have been doing things, actually way too many so haven’t had time to post. So here is what happened:

 

On Friday I had my last of the four workshops for hat making out of scrap material. All the pupils from year 9 at Colstons were really lovely and although some groups were way to quiet at the beginning, which sort made me nervous, although it may have been that shock of me walking in with my “Owl in hiding” hat and some groups were well excited from the first minute, but they all enjoyed it.  And by the end of the double lessons I had them all either doing fantastic brainstorm session, rocking the catwalk with my hat to try to and really getting into this whole fashion show idea. I had a wonderful time and I am really hoping to come back in few weeks time to check on their progress.

 

Friday I had an early start in the theatre turning up at 8am having to pack up dry tent number one before school assembly turns up, so I got to mix all the Rosco paints ready to go once the primer is dry on the tarpaulin number two and I am back from lunch. Again I had the great help of girls from Thursday of Natascha and Zoe and they have really been helpful and got stuck in. Since I had to make sure I leave early enough to run to work later that night I had to be quick and time efficient. I have chosen slightly different technique than the day before and it worked rather better. The first strips were drying as we were finishing the last ones. I swapped the choice of base colours and then putting the red and yellow into it, using little bit of dry brush, but mostly splattering to getting the desired look. If you compare the picture you can probably tell  the difference, but based on the fact they could not be done at the same time and we only had less than a day to do them, not bad. Let’s hope for some theatre lights to make them blend in.  day 39 p1

 

And then the signs went up. Very exciting! Lot of work went into placing them to the right point, as the Penitentiary sign has to cover the Carnival sign, as there will be a lot of theatre shock effect happening around that. Since I only have a mobile phone to take pictures with at the moment, the effects with Instagram filters wasn’t probably the best to show off, but I will do the best to post some show photographs once I get hold of some. But I hope you can see that lovely touch of gold glittering on  letters.

 

 

day 39 p3 day 39 p2

 

And lastly, since 8th November was sort of suppose to be kind of a special day, this weekend has turned out to be a bit of a personal disappointment and I have figured out that the choices you made in the past and they felt wrong to other side, have been actually the right ones to do. I have been going back and forth in my mind and in real for the last three months trying to figure what is going and now I can finally say I have done the right thing and now just have to look to the future. On that note, the free lip gloss sample in this month’s Elle must be the magic doing something as I had three men at work telling me I have beautiful shiny lips demanding my number. One of them especially was really funny, as normally comes in and is very polite and well behaved, however this time for ten minutes he kept leaning with his other friend over the cloakroom window demanding a kiss and a date repeating: “You have shiny lips. Can I get a Good night kiss?” It does light up the night and you get to forget about the rude customers, who forget I am actually working on a freezing door and I am not a supermarket offering two for one entry.

Kat xx

P.S. And no, he did not get a Good night kiss from me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

