Day 35: Prison&circus sign and mad hat workshop! 57 days to go!

 

Kat doodles about life and gets arty:

 

I had so much fun today! Not enough sleep, but I think the adrenalin kept me going on. I was finishing the stencils penitentiary sign (oh my god, still cannot say it properly) and getting materials ready for the workshop. Up again early again this morning printing. I did not want to wake up my neighbours last night… even my machine is fairly quiet, the night just makes every noise sound like ten times worse.

 

So first thing this morning was workshop. It was pretty hilarious, I set up my costume drawings, sketchbooks, tools and so on and walked out of the room to put my hat made out of toilet roll and mushroom box and walked in like on the catwalk of America’s Next Top Model flapping my owl wings. I did make them laugh and it took them about four attempts to figure out, what is it made of. To keep the attention of 23 young people of year 9 is pretty challenging, but I think I did my best to keep them entertained for  over an hour. My costume drawing of Ma b in a sausage skirt and tight pink top definitely made the trick as well as talking about bra strap elastic used as a form of scrap material in one of the projects. I had no idea until the teacher said to me I had suddenly all the boys listening. What I really enjoyed that two of the boys actually volunteered to try my hat on, so I could show the class how to walk and how to think as the character and they got a great applause at the end of their runway walk. “Work it baby” , Mr. Alexander would say. Great bunch of girls and boys and I cannot wait to do some more on Wednesday and Friday of circus, carnival and fun fair hat madness. Perhaps it is the big kid in me, perhaps they are those acting skills you must have doing theatre school even not being an actor or simply my aversion against boring classes I experienced myself as a pupil, although I can totally understand you cannot make it always interesting. So mad had off to all the teachers.

 

Straight after I went to crack on into the theatre with the signage. The prison sign is done, I got it all drawn and painted, but I think it will need one more coat tomorrow, so that should be fairly straightforward. And with the red carnival sign  I brushed in a layer of red into the brown, so it is definitely starting look circus themed. I reckon few more layers and I can start stenciling, and start on other bits and pieces. The picture below was taken in complete darkness, but with Instagram filter it is looking somewhere similar.

 

So today I had a really nice day and it felt pretty good being on the other side, feeling appreciated and doing things more meaningful. How was your day guys? Kat xx

day 35 p1 day 35 p2

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

