Day 28: Week four review and my first ever driving lesson! 64 days to go

Kat doodles about life:

I am alive! Just so you know that there is no one else writing this post.  I have experienced the weirdest feeling ever, that I am in charge of this huge metal object, which moves around. However Thank God the instructor has extra pedals as they were needed few times and he sat in a passenger seat driving for me turning the stirring wheel around. It has been raining all day, but an hour before the lesson it got so bad I was really freaking out, got to tidy up my room and kept busy hoping to forget what is it I have to do pretty soon and cannot avoid. The same situation, when you are trying to write your dissertation, but somehow there is always something more important to do.

I certainly made sure he is aware of the fact I know nothing about cars, certainly never driven and before I started the engine made him laugh by checking if he has an insurance. He was really lovely about the whole thing and I am really pleased I choose him (she says after only one lesson…). I cannot imagine sitting next to someone, who gets angry or stressed, when you are learning skill like this as it is a lot to take in the first time round and I tend to freeze and cannot concentrate, when someone expects you to understand with flick of a finger. It brings back memories of Maths and English lessons and I feel instantly nervous and sick just thinking about that school experience. Now if you have never driven before like me you get told about how to sit and what are all the buttons in the car for. I probably got to wash his car windows three times when pressing the wrong buttons, it was pretty hilarious. It must be a common thing, because they were pretty clean before I even started. You get told about all the different procedures you have to follow when driving and then we got on to do the real thing. Weirdest thing was to understand that the car can move without me touching the gas, that you turn your stirring wheel slowly going in, but really fast on the way back and you will stop and jump up with the car if you don’t put the gears back to neutral position.

If you would have talk to me about anything like this yesterday, it would go through one ear in and through the other out, however now I finally had a go, I am somehow getting the idea what is it people talk about. There were two really helpful things to know- when he kept comparing the car to the bike. It made so much more sense, what does when and why. And the second one is when he was trying to explain the biting point. I got it pretty much first time round and he was fairly impressed with that. Obviously it only needs adjustment, when i get used to doing all the steps in the right order. I thought of it later on, because lot of people kept saying it took them ages to figure out how to do the the right touch. And then it came up in my head why! During my theatre design degree I got to learn how to use industrial sewing machine and years later I purchased my own Singer. Getting to learn how to touch the pedal with right sensitivity was almost impossible at the beginning. I guess the fear of being killed on the road equals the fear of getting your fingers accidentally stitched with the fabric, if you push too hard. So here we go, who would have thought my sewing skills will be applied somewhere else.  Two hours later I got out of the car, feeling pretty pleased with myself, even simply because I was still alive!

This week was kind of about two things the theatre production has been confirmed and I will get to start work on it in few days time and the blog party. I got learn how to communicate with people better and based on one of my post on how people perceived me I consciously started making difference in how I behave in certain situations or what I say and it seems to be helping. Receiving Swiss chocolate as a present helped me in recovering from the bicycle fall and the rest of the week I spent blogging about Maison Bentley Style Blog Party and how I (used to) party. Not as much rock’ n’ roll as it used to be. If you get to click on the Party Blog, there will be a list of blogs you can visit and get to read and perhaps find something you will get to love to read apart my blogs posts of course 🙂 I will be making my way through the list, so I will let you know about my likes.

If you are in Britain, enjoy this gorgeous sunshine today and I will be back later. Kat xx

P.S. And this is why I have to learn?! https://katdesigner.wordpress.com/2013/09/09/i-noticed-in-your-cv-that-you-dont-drive-currently/

day 28

7 thoughts on “Day 28: Week four review and my first ever driving lesson! 64 days to go

  1. Joel Wreford says:

    Excellent Kat! Glad you felt you achieved something on our first lesson. I’d say it went really well, especially as a complete beginner. The first stage of learning to control a car isn’t easy, but everyone had to do it at some point, and based on lesson 1 I think you’ll do fine. See you on the next one!

  2. katdesigner says:

    You are welcome! I am thinking pretty good choice of an instructor based only on the fact you have dreads and no other research done. I mean in this job it is not about the price, it is about the people, who teach. Strange to say, but I am looking forward to the second one, let’s hope it is as good as the first one. And thanks for sharing.

  3. jackiemallon says:

    Oh I remember it well…course I failed it the first time, had to redo. That won’t happen to you. I’m a second time only kinda girl. Happy driving! Isn’t it fun?

  4. katdesigner says:

    Never say never Jackie… when it comes to passing exams I am rather careful about saying: “I will definitely pass!” I have to admit it did feel pretty nice and warm in the car, not getting wet and not using the man power of getting somewhere. However I did feel pretty guilty about leaving my bike in the garage all on its own. It is that syndrom of last child to be chosen to play in the team. The more cool, useful and better looking ones get chosen first.. I feel awful I am giving up on it… although for the right reasons…

  5. […] Day 28: Week four review and my first ever driving lesson! 64 days to go […]

Leave a Reply

