Day 11: Updating and linking! 81 days to go!

Kat doodles about life:

So in a post of the Day 11 I would like to tell you about little update on the blog. On the left hand side, which is more dark blue, there are few things I have been confused about for a while, but I did not bother to deal with. So firstly it is different categories. In my dashboard I could see 6, however only 5 would show up. The only one missing was “About”. It was not until I decided to update About into About Kat and turn in into a post rather description or summary. I also ticked the box after I wrote the post to keep in About Kat category and published it. Here we are it appeared. I am sure there  must be a place, where my description was, but it could not be very clear to others either as no one would look at it knowing from Stats. Sounds like there always has to be a post in order for the category to appear.

Second thing I am a bit confused about is section Meta. Do You guys keep it there? Or what is it for? When I clicked on each category of this section it did seem to turn the posts in lot more more obvious order, but not as pretty. So I am wondering if there is any real need for it? Could anyone explain?

I recently signed up to Joe Seeber’s blog. He gives out tips on how to make your blog more attractive and general online advice. I recommend checking it out. One of the advice I used was getting rid off Search button. People are more likely to be disappointed with your page if they don’t find what they want. For small blogs under I think it was around 100- 200 posts, there is no need for them. Readers then enjoy more browsing around and read what you write about. I eventually managed to do that, but it took what felt as almost forever to find it in settings. I just tried to find it again, but got lost repeatedly.

Anyway what I found  is in Appearance , then going to Widgets, you can drag from following list what you like into the list on the right hand side and Create your own list of sections. You can tell your followers anything What Blog you follow to Calendar or Blog Stats. On that exact same page  in the column on the right by clicking by Recent Posts, you can change the amount of posts displayed on your page.  Just to promote my blog little more and show readers more of what I am doing, I went from 5 to 20. It may be a bit too much, but for now, I do not mind.

Finally the last useful thing to do is update your sharing options for other social media. In my About Kat post, I included the complete list of all social networks I am in, so readers can get better view my work or style or just simply get in touch. On your dashboard you can also do it by clicking on Settings and Sharing, filling in the right accounts. WordPress seems to be little limited with number of options, but I mostly use Facebook and WordPress and everything else is just to spread the message.

If you feel you would like to share another social media or network worth joining, comments or if you have any useful tip on how to improve personal blogs, let us know.

Thanks for reading Kat xx

day11

Leave a Reply

