Badaude: Street Style Sofia

Kat recommends:

So I am sitting on the train to work and as I pick up one of those newspapers from nearby seat and flicking through The Times, my attention is suddenly crossed by one bright funky illustration.

Baduade: Street Style Sofia

I guess even more than the illustration was the name Sofia written at the top. I lived in Bulgarian City for three months during my Erasmus Exchange in my second year of Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama in Cardiff and I loved it so much You cannot even imagine. It was the place where I truly felt happy again about year and half after my father died. I could simply be simply be myself as my Eastern European roots were grown in similar ways and I was cocooned in this magical world of the past.

I started to study the illustration and couldn’t believe Badaude mentioned National Academy of Arts on Vasil Levski Bulevard, because that is where the main building is and has its own nickname Shipka. I used to study at one of those beautiful old broken buldings on bulevard Tsarigradsko shose surrounded by greenery and wonderful views as our scenograghy studio was on the top floor.

Every morning I walked through this path, which runs along the Tsaregradsko shose bulevar. Academy is hiding right at the end.
Academy hiding behind the trees in still cold days of early spring.

That was the first thing, which came to my mind looking at the pictures of three funky dressed like ladies and reading Baduade’s comments. I wondered who she is, so I found her blog.

It is full of lovely Illustrations, drawings and her I guess the story of her artistic journey. She started blog in July 2006 and since then came a long away.  She even published her own book. There is actually too much to say and I will have to dedicate more time to this wonderful young lady and checking out her work. She draws anything, anywhere on anything. Yes from drawing naked ladies in crowded cafe to drawing pretty things on tents at festivals. I know what are thinking? What? Drawing on tents??? Oh yes!!!

So Thank You Baduade for brightening up my day and bringing back happy memories of Sofia.

Leave a Reply

